Skip to main content

17 phenomenal projects in the running for iconic National Lottery Award

11th Medi 2023

17 projects from across the UK are appealing for votes to be crowned National Lottery Project of the Year.

Last year The Black Swimming Association took home the prize.

Project of the Year finalists beat off stiff competition from 3,780 organisations to reach the public voting stage in this year’s National Lottery Awards, which celebrate the inspirational projects and people who do extraordinary things with the help of National Lottery funding.

The project finalists will compete in a four-week public vote from 11th September – 9th October to be named the National Lottery Project of the Year. Winners will receive a £5,000 cash prize for their project and a coveted National Lottery Awards trophy.

The projects shortlisted are:

  • Leigh Film Society CIO
  • Hospital Rooms Springfield Innovation Project
  • University of Atypical
  • Pianodrome
  • Hear We Are
  • St Petrock’s Mobile Rough Sleeper Service
  • Change Makers
  • Jak’s Den Aberdeen
  • Get The Boys a Lift
  • Punk: Rage & Revolution
  • Bangor Court House
  • Friends of Hartwood Paupers Cemetry
  • Project SIARC
  • Projekts MCR Skatepark
  • Mae Murray Foundation Portstewart Inclusive Beach
  • Scottish Sport Futures
  • Cardiff Dragons FC

Jonathan Tuchner, from the National Lottery, said: “We’re so pleased to have received so many nominations highlighting the excellent work that National Lottery-funded projects are doing up and down the UK. It’s no secret that times are tough, so it’s great to see so many people and projects dedicating so much time and energy into giving something back to their communities.

“It’s thanks to National Lottery players, who raise more than £30 million each week for good causes, that the work of these amazing projects is made possible.

“All of these projects are making an incredible impact in their local community, and they thoroughly deserve to be in the finals of the National Lottery Awards Project of the Year 2023.”

To vote, please go to our voting page. Voting runs from 9am on 11th September until 12pm on 9th October.