Skip to main content

National Lottery Awards 2015

18th February 2015

The search to find the UK’s favourite National Lottery funded projects begins today as the entry period for The National Lottery Awards 2015 opens.

Now in their 12th year, the National Lottery Awards celebrate the hard work and dedication of people who are using Lottery funding to change people’s lives.

The public votes for the winners who attend a star-studded awards ceremony, which is televised on BBC One. This gives the general public an opportunity to hear about projects large and small that have benefited from National Lottery funding. Winners also receive a £2,000 cash prize to spend on their project.

Last year’s ceremony, hosted by John Barrowman, featured special guest performances from Ella Henderson and Pixie Lott, and was attended by a host of celebrity supporters including John Torode, Bianca Jagger, and Larry Lamb. But the spotlight isn’t on the celebrities at these awards. The real stars of the show are the unsung heroes who use Lottery funding to transform their communities and change lives through their projects.

John Barrowman, presenter of last year’s National Lottery Awards show, said:

“Every National Lottery player should feel proud of the incredible difference they are making to the local community. They raise an astonishing £33 million every week for a huge variety of life-changing projects. The National Lottery Awards offer a chance to celebrate the fantastic work of Lottery-funded projects. If you know of a great project that deserves to shine, then please nominate them for an Award.”

Any organisation that has received National Lottery funding can enter the National Lottery Awards 2015. There are seven categories to reflect the range of areas that the Lottery funds - Sport, Heritage, Arts, Environment, Health, Education and Voluntary/Charity.

If you want to nominate your favourite project or enter your own project in this year’s National Lottery Awards, visit or call 0207 293 3599 to find out more. Entries must be received by midnight 25 March.