Skip to main content

Kelly Brook leads the hunt for UK’s favourite community heroes as the National Lottery Awards 2022 begins

27th April 2022

The National Lottery Awards are back for 2022, and this year Kelly Brook is leading the hunt for the UK’s favourite National Lottery-funded people and projects.

The National Lottery awarded more than £1.26 billion of funding to good causes all over the UK in 2020/21.

A total of 34,689 National Lottery grants were allocated in this period, providing crucial support to arts, sports, heritage and community organisations in Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

A woman (Kelly Brook) at her house holding a National Lottery Award.
Kelly Brook at her house holding a National Lottery Award.

The National Lottery Awards are an annual celebration of the inspirational individuals and groups who do extraordinary things in their community with the help of National Lottery funding.

More than 1,500 people and projects were nominated for last year’s National Lottery Awards, and now the search is on once again for 2022’s nominees.

Anyone who has received National Lottery funding is eligible for nomination.

Kelly Brook said: “It’s a real honour to be supporting this year’s National Lottery Awards, which highlight inspirational community champions all over the UK.”

“There are so many people up and down the country working tirelessly to make a difference in their communities, so it’s really important that we take a step back and recognise that.”

“I hope lots of people put forward their nominations, because there are so many who deserve one of these awards.”

“It’s thanks to National Lottery players that so much funding goes towards helping these local heroes carry out their vital work.”

Jonathan Tuchner, from the National Lottery, added: “The National Lottery has continued to make an incredible contribution to life in the UK ever since it was first established in 1994.”

“Thanks to National Lottery players, an incredible £30 million is raised for good causes every single week.”

“The National Lottery Awards seek to honour those who have stepped up and work tirelessly on behalf of others. We want to thank them and celebrate their incredible efforts.”

The National Lottery Awards will seek to celebrate outstanding individuals in the following categories:

· Community/Charity
· Art, Culture & Film
· Sport
· Heritage
· Environment
· Young Hero (Under 25s)

Winners of these categories will be chosen by a judging panel made up of members of the National Lottery family and partners and will win a £5,000 cash prize and an iconic National Lottery Awards trophy.

In addition, any projects that have benefitted from National Lottery funding are also eligible to enter the Project of the Year category.

The nominees will be whittled down to 16 finalists, with a UK-wide public vote in September deciding the winner.

To make your nomination for this year’s National Lottery Awards, tweet @LottoGoodCauses with your suggestions or complete an entry form through our website Entries must be received by midnight on 1st June 2022.